The River Story

by Joanna

You became a part of the river story

The river of my dreams

The river of my past

Drowning me with sorrow

We spent so many nights together 

Tense and terse and never comfortable

We faced journey after journey in strife

A darkness about both of our hearts 

Until we found not only freedom from ourselves 

But from each other

I hated the day

I will always hate the day

5 years into it all this time

Millennia passing in between meetings

I am still in agony

Mostly, I wonder where joy went

 I remember when it was sucked away from me

Lost among the thorns of a childhood spent as a lie

It has been a common theme in my life

You ‘just want me to be happy’

But then show me only misery

I beg for freedom

Each passing night 

A clarity ringing through my desires

Yet my unquenched thirst remains in your stead

