Just Because…

by Joanna

Just because I spread my legs for you
And send you dirty pictures
You do not have the right to treat me like a whore
Just because I don't make demands
For you to take me out on dates
You do not have the right to disrespect me
Just because you get what you want
About 90% of the time
You do not have the right to jerk me around

I am still a woman
And I can indeed speak

Just because sometimes I like another's company
When I feel so moved
You do not have the right to use me
Just because I take my shirt off
And expose my breasts
You do not have the right to exploit me
Just because you don't get what you want
About 10% of the time
You do not have the right to ignore me

I am still a person
And I can indeed cry out

Just because I do not ask questions
About where you've been or who was in your bed
You do not have the right to abuse your privileges
Just because I don't make a big deal
About the way you have behaved
You do not have the right to see me as disposable
Just because I pretend it's ok
While I am hurt inside
You do not have the right to make me feel small

I am still a human being
And I can indeed ROAR

Oh, what's that you say?
You are uncomfortable?
Well...

Tough shit.
